Nominations-Mrs. I. P. Gammon, Mrs. Charles Fuhrman and Mrs. L. E. Sayre. Resolutions-Mrs. J. Leyden White, Mrs. Charles Merrell and Mrs. Charles Avery.

SECOND SESSION.

The second session of the Women's Section, A. Ph. A., was called to order Monday, May 10, at 9.30 A.M., by Acting-President Mrs. Lyman F. Kebler.

Mrs. Hughes, President of the Housekeepers' Alliance, was introduced and spoke on the subject of "Conservation." A vote of thanks was given the speaker.

The Committee on Nominations presented the names of the following nominees. They were elected.

Honorary President-Mrs. Fletcher Howard,* Los Angeles, Cal.

President-Mrs. Lewis C. Hopp, Cleveland, Ohio.

First Vice-President-Mrs. Charles Holzhauer, Newark, N. J.

Second Vice-President-Mrs. F. C. Godbold, New Orleans, La.

Secretary--Miss Genevieve Simms, Washington, D. C.

Treasurer-Mrs. C. E. Bent, Dell Rapids, S. D.

Executive Committee-Mrs. Lyman F. Kebler, Chairman, Washington, D. C.

In harmony with a suggestion of Miss Anna G. Bagley, Mrs. H. M. Whelpley moved that the Women's Section hold one session only hereafter, thus coöperating with the Local Entertainment Committee. Carried.

The Committee on Resolutions reported the following:

That a letter of thanks be sent to the American Pharmaceutical Association for their kindness and constant courtesy.

That a rising vote of thanks be given to the members of the Ladies Local Committee for their tireless endeavors and great success in providing the entertainments and contributing so largely to pleasures of the meeting.

That the resignation of Secretary Mrs. H. R. Kenaston be accepted with regret.

That a letter of sympathy be sent to Mrs. Fletcher Howard.*

The resolutions were adopted.

COUNCIL BUSINESS

A. PH. A. COUNCIL LETTER NO. 2.

WASHINGTON, D. C., June 19, 1920.

To the Members of the Council:

4. Question of eligibility of non-members of Council for service on Council committees. Under date of June 2, 1920, Mr. J. W. England writes from Philadelphia, as follows:

"To the Council of the A. Ph. A.:

DEAR SIRS:

Having been advised that at the meeting of the Council held May 10, 1920, I was elected Chairman of the Committee on Publication for 1920-21, I must decline such service because I am ineligible for election to this committee, as are, also, E. L. Newcomb and Clyde L. Eddy. We are not members of the Council, and, therefore, not eligible for election to any of the standing committees of the Council. According to the by-laws of the Association (Chapter VII), the object of the Council is to transact business for the Association, and the object of the standing committees of the Council is to transact business for the Council. The councilors have no authority to delegate their duties to others; and hence, the members of the standing committees must be councilors only. Logically, if it be permissible for three non-members of the Council to be members of a standing committee of the Council, it is permissible, also, for all the members of all the standing committees to be non-members of the Council, and this would be absurd.

At the meeting of the Council, held May 10, 1920, a resolution was passed declaring "that members of the standing and special committees of the Council need not necessarily be members of the Council." But such resolution, so far as relates to the standing com-

* Mrs. Fletcher Howard, an active worker in the Association for many years and a regular attendant at the annual meetings during her husband's lifetime, passed away June 19.

mittees, is in conflict with the integrity of the Council and, therefore, null and void.

The special committees elected by the Council were created by resolution of the Council, approved by the Association, or by resolution of the Association to be elected by the Council.

The special committees were created by resolution for the prosecution of the general work of the Association, and the Council has the undoubted right to declare that the members of such committees need not necessarily be members of the Council. But the standing committees were established by by-law for the conduct of the business of the Council, and the Council has no authority to side-step its responsibilities by delegating its duties to those who are not members of its own body.

The writer asks that the Council take appropriate action with reference to the three non-Council members of the Committee on Publication so that the publication interests of the Association may receive prompt attention.

Yours very truly,

J. W. ENGLAND."

*6. Election of active members. You are requested to vote on the following applications for active membership:

No. 1, Alberto Soler Estevan, Palmarito de Cauto, Oriente, Cuba; No. 2, Oliver A. Waldschmidt, 904 Eleventh St., Milwaukee, Wis.; No. 3, Francis B. Leigh, 1603 E. State St., Trenton, N. J.; No. 4, Harold Noble Law, 113 West Fourth St., Bridgeport, Pa.; No. 5, Laurenee Ernest Reidinger, 616 E. Cameron St., Shamokin, Pa.; No. 6, Herbert Joseph Roth, 406 W. Dauphin St., Philadelphia, Pa.; No. 7, Fred Wolff, 26 Arcade Bldg, Pullman Sta., Chicago, Ill.; No. 8, Walter W. Wieczorek, 1174 Milwaukee Ave., Chicago, Ill.; No. 9, Maurice A. Train, 1659 W. Division St., Chicago, Ill.; No. 10, Milton Mitchell Fox, 3309 Milwaukee Ave., Chicago, Ill.; No. 11, William F. Breslau, 3500 Armitage Ave., Chicago, Ill.; No. 12, James Herbert Gray, 111 North Wabash Ave., Chicago, Ill.; No. 13, Charles

Rimmeler, 7040 Union Ave., Chicago, Ill.; No. 14, Bernard Poole Furry, Main Street, Bridgewater, Va.; No. 15, Owen M. Lynch, Irvine, Kentucky.; No. 16, Jerome Sivir, 639 West Monroe St., Springfield, Ill.; No. 17, George H. Guy, 2nd and Yesler Way, Seattle, Wash.; No. 18, Roderick T. Black, 168 23rd Street, Detroit, Mich.; No. 19, Herbert Skoglund, 416 W. 60th Pl., Chicago, Ill.; No. 20, Abraham Lincoln Gasen, 5031 Garfield Ave., St. Louis, Mo.; No. 21, Harry Neff, 5th and Rooseveldt Boulevard, Philadelphia, Pa.; No. 22, Herbert Carl Kassner, 201 Hillside Ave., Jamaica, L. I., N. Y.; No. 23, Florence Carolyn Lane, 16 Maple Grove St., Great Neck, L. I., N. Y.; No. 24, Benjamin White, 375 South St., Jamaica Plain, Boston, Mass.; No. 25, Max E. Ahnert, 1844 West Adams St., Chicago, Ill., No. 26, Carl F. Fischer, 701 W. Lake St., Minncapolis, Minn.; No. 27, L. P. O'Farrell, Gorth Road, Scarsdale, N. Y.; No. 28, Benjamin L. Milana, 850 110th St., Richmond Hill, L. I.; No. 29, Emery William Parker, Victoria, Texas.; No. 30, Charles T. Davis, 217 Duffield St., Brooklyn, N. Y.; No. 31, Abraham Saperstein, 1557 Eastern Parkway, Brooklyn, N. Y., No. 32, Paul Elgevir Barton, 3210 Arthington St., Chicago, Ill.; No. 33, Saturnino Vidaurreta, 3236 Chestnut St., Philadelphia, Pa.; No. 34, George F. Baumann, 1233 Maralis St., New Orleans, La.; No. 35, Fred W. Ames, 6056 Hurst St., New Orleans, La.; No. 36, Edward Isaac Joseph, 901 Second St., Alexandria, La.; No. 37, Harry J. Bourgeois, Box 114, Morgan City, La.; No. 38, William N. Watson, Independence, La.; No. 39, Mack Lunsford Brorch, Willifield, La.; No. 40, Joseph Henry Berner, 4700 Freret St., New Orleans, La., No. 41, Bert Augustus Brewer, Arcadia, La.; No. 42, Matilde Martinez, Marta Abreu 15, Sta. Clara, Cuba.

7. Election of soldier and sailor members. You are requested to vote on the following applications for soldier and sailor membership, Nos. 1 to 11.

> A. G. DU MEZ, Secretary.

* Item 5 has reference only to change in status of members, and is, therefore, omitted.